Les Mis

Saw Les Mis last night with Andy, Christine, and Rachel. We went to a late showing at the Kabuki theater in Japantown.

Amazing doesn’t even begin to describe my reaction. Anne Hathaway and Hugh Jackman were outstanding. We laughed, we cried, and I may have even cursed Javert on several occasions. I’ve been waiting for this movie for some time now, and it didn’t disappoint. After reading many, many mixed reviews, I went in with an open mind, and am so glad I did. Maybe I’m just not picky or overly critical about these sorts of things, but I just loved it, and wasn’t even bothered by Russell Crow. Amanda sounded a little tinny and off-key at times, and Russell was definitely an interesting choice, but overall, it didn’t ruin anything for me. The artistry of the opening scene with the ship was visually stunning, and the scenes with the fighting were amazing, as well. I Dreamed A Dream was…God, I cried. On My Own was perfection, but I felt that was a VO (maybe due to the rain in the scene?). Who Am I and Empty Table, Empty Chairs were just gutting. Gavroche was the best; I think my favorite character. He was perfection personified.

We got to Kabuki because it’s a great theater with a bar; we bought a bottle of Parducci Pinot Noir and between Andy and myself, we killed the whole bottle. Maybe that was the reason for the tears!

Parducci_PN_sized

Leave a Reply

